God Still Moves.

Back in 2007, Wesley was out on a quick weekend trip to California wooing me. Unfortunately, he didn’t get too far. Halfway through the trip, he sat down next to me at Barnes & Nobles and couldn’t get back up. I honestly thought I was going to have to call Dad to carry him out of there. Something had snapped or popped and his back went completely out.

We managed to extricate ourselves from B & N but for the rest of the trip, Wesley was mostly lying face down on our massage table or at the chiropractor. Monday night rolled around and he was scheduled to leave early Tuesday. We weren’t quite sure how this was too be accomplished as sitting was the most painful position for him. And then, at nine pm, we received an automated phone call from the airport saying his flight had been canceled and he was rescheduled to leave on Thursday. We all just kind of looked at each other with expressions of disbelief, then thought for sure it was a prank call. But, a call to the airport confirmed that Wes was indeed on a Thursday flight. We shook our heads again and were like, ‘Whoa,’ and thanked God for an answer to prayer.

On Tuesday at around five o’clock, Wes and I were finally departing Charlotte after about a three hour delay. On Tuesday around five o’clock in California, Cody and Tessa disappeared. This happens frequently but they always wander back or someone calls as they have their names and numbers embroidered on their collars. But no one called, and they didn’t wander back. Around nine o’clock, Wesley and I landed in Phoenix and were eventually routed to a hotel. Around nine o’clock in California, Dad and Mom were hoarse from walking up and down the beaches driving here, yither and yond calling for the dogs.

Wednesday morning dawned. Our flight to San Luis Obispo booted twenty people off and we hopped on a Santa Barbara flight. I was about going crazy trying to get out of Phoenix. In California, Dad was up at dawn, setting up an Amber Alert, posting lost ads on Craigslist, spreading the word on facebook (thank you reposting friends), printing out hundreds of lost flyers, and was in touch with a local radio station.

Somehow I was unaware of all this. We landed in Santa Barbara and my soul was just smiling. I ran to meet mom and dad and we had a great ride back to SLO to eat at Firestone. I asked how the dogs were doing but Wesley was talking at the same time and they chose to answer his question and I forgot to ask again. We had a delicious lunch at Firestone and finally piled back in the car. Mom’s phone rang. Through facebook, some guy had seen that we were missing our border collies and had dropped them back off at our house and then called to let her know.

Mom pretty much collapsed, Dad patted her back, and I said, ‘uh, what’s going on, were the dogs missing?’

I got the download and when we reached Journeys End and I was greeted by this,

I was pretty thankful I’d spent the night blissfully unaware in Phoenix.

Thanking the Lord for big and small blessings.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in animals, cayucos, Happiness, Journeys End, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to God Still Moves.

  1. Abbs says:

    So glad you made it! Since you left we are having amazing weather!! So we banded together and decide you can’t come back!, j/k. Have fun hugging your family!

  2. jukesjourney says:

    Welcome Kelsey! Your dogs definitely got their day of fame on Facebook. You are right God still moves 🙂

  3. amanda easley says:

    Awww…what a great story 🙂 I am glad that they came back and that alls well that ends well as they say 🙂 BTW, you are a great little blogger. Your little entries are WAY more interesting than most : 0!! Also, I can just picture the little scene in the car with your mom and dad and the pat pat pat. smile.

Leave a Reply

