a new experience

Before I was married, I’d been to thrift stores about six times in my life. Maybe seven. They just didn’t hold that much interest to me. I’m not a real good searcher.  I used to look for things in the refrigerator and holler, ‘Mom, I can’t find the mayonnaise, I think we’re out.’ ‘No, I just bought some, it’s in there,’ Mom would holler back. I’d peer back in the fridge and say, ‘I can’t find it!’ Mom would come in, move two things around, hand me the mayo, maybe roll her eyes, and say, ‘Kelsey, you have to move things around.’ I’d chuckle, take the mayo, and then do precisely the same thing the following week about some spice in the spice drawer. And if you’re wondering what all this has to do with thrifting, it simply translates back to my original statement. I’m not a good searcher.

Then I got married. And the family that I married into is big into thrifting. And they know how to search which enables them to find some amazing things. I’m learning. But I use the tip of one finger to pick my way down the clothes aisle. I hardly ever manage to look through shirts, just too overwhelming. And as I walk through the house wares department I peer here and there and maybe budge one thing over. But kind of how my goal when I ski is to go so slow that I never fall, I try to not touch to much stuff when thrifting. Just some mental hang up.

But I do enjoy going. Especially when I am with folks who are searchers. Because they find stuff. And that makes things enjoyable. (Was that redundant?) Anyways, yesterday I piled into the car with my MIL, her twin, and her twin’s daughter. The four of us drove up north to Maryland to do some major thrifting. And let me tell you, these were not your typical thrift stores. These are like, empty your super Walmart building and then put all your thrift stuff inside. They are huge. And there’s more than just one.

This was one side of a store.

And this was the other. Absolutely enormous. Utterly massive. I believe we spent over three hours in there. But we found stuff. And some of us found a lot of stuff. I occasionally picked over things with two fingers, although I’d forgotten my hand sanitizer so I couldn’t be too crazy.

It was a lovely way to spend a thirty degree day. Allow me to express my appreciation for being able to barge in on this trip and to give my thanks to all those who donated our remarkable finds.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to a new experience

  1. Aunt Stace says:

    I want to go there. I really do.

  2. Brookie says:

    oh no. mom. this is an intervention.

  3. your mother says:

    breathe in….breathe out….I’m feeling claustrophobic just looking at that picture. too much stuff and people. darlin’ your mother trained you to NEVER leave home w/out your anti-bacterial hand stuff. atleast you were with good company. gotta look at the positives in life.

  4. Lana M. says:

    LUCKY!

  5. Cathy says:

    I would have been digging. If you notice something out of place, in the wrong area, or hidden under something….someone left it to come back later for and it probably is worth something! I DO use hand sanitizer after some thrift stores for sure!! Pretty brave of you to spend 3 hours there. Did you end up in the books, to kill time?!

  6. Aunt Terri says:

    I was so jealous when I heard that you all had gone thrift storing. May come next time?

  7. Abbs says:

    Wow, I really want to go!, I wonder though, would my kids enjoy it as much as I? I think I’d have to take a whole week;D

Leave a Reply

