The Linda Award

Today, I received the Linda Award [read, I gave myself the Linda Award]. The Linda Award is inspired by said person who is known to attach camping trailers to vehicles, take over their kid’s lawn routes at a moment’s notice, till up large amounts of land, mow, fertilize, weed, take out trash, give hair cuts to various neighbors who happen to pop in, all the while maintaining a home that constantly smells of good things coming forth from the kitchen and a most cheerful countenance.

I don’t receive the Linda Award too often. My mom just did on Saturday and perhaps I was inspired by her. She mowed the back forty and her house was ready for drop in company [100 or so folks] the next day. Many accolades to you, mother dear.

Today I did a good job of playing the part of a housewife. Many good aromas came forth from my kitchen and areas of the house got a good once over. But you don’t get the Linda Award for merely doing as you ought, you have to go above and beyond the call of duty.

I hope you realize I’m not writing this with a straight face.

Anyways, my FIL had given us a load of wood and it was all sitting in his truck. It needed to be unloaded so I could have my dear Forrester back and Wesley was planning on doing just that and then loading up some wood at the bottom of our property and hauling it up to the house. It was a nice day outside, so I decided I’d help him get a head start. I unloaded the truck and prettily stacked the wood along a brick wall. Then I put it in four wheel drive and drove down to the other stack. I couldn’t get it close for fear I would get stuck, so I just backed it down and hopped down to the wood pile and started heaving wood at the truck.  Due to the steep embankment, the tail gate was about ten feet away from me and a foot or so above my head. I could do a little Pythagorean theory for you and tell you the exact distance that I was throwing but I’ll believe I’ll pass. Quite a lot of heaving and missing the bed took place. Thankfully, no trucks were harmed in this process. After many breaks and pealing off excess layers, I finally finished, pulled the truck back up, prettily stacked the rest of the wood, smiled, and pinned myself with the Linda Award.

I hope you’re all inspired.

Chuckle.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Linda Award

  1. Jana says:

    Wow Kels! Congratulations! That is inspiring! 🙂

  2. Kristy says:

    And the Linda Award is so named after….?

  3. Aunt Stace says:

    Wow. I’m so impressed! You certainly did earn the Linda Award!! (You forgot to mention that Linda also digs graves for the family pets who’ve gone to the Happy Hunting Ground, sews bridesmaid dresses, alters wedding gowns, trains horses, and just this week took care of a car problem.)

  4. Lana M. says:

    And she just happens to be my birthday girl!

  5. your mother says:

    ah yes the linda award…one of the highest esteemed. and you already got it at the ripe ole age at 21. way to go missy.

  6. dad says:

    Definitely one of your top 10 posts. Proverbs 31 has nothing on you.

  7. Jess says:

    A very high award indeed! I believe you earned it!! Nice work. And an excellent post, to boot!

  8. Lindsey says:

    Awesome! And I thought I got a lot done yesterday. Hmm.

  9. Pingback: oh wow. | A Story of Us

  10. Pingback: wherein i try… | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

