things are looking brighter.

Several lovely things have happened in the past 48 hours.

  1. It is now February. It feels luscious to throw January off my back. And spring is that much nearer.
  2. I received so much encouraging blog love and emails ranging from lunch invites, to learning of quack the duck, to medical advice (which I’m sure is accurate :), every summer I say that I will be taking Vitamin D supplements in the winter. Do I? No, but I should and maybe now I will.)
  3. I have renewed appreciation for my job. It gets me out of the house and makes me profitable at the same time. And it keeps me from shopping. How marvelous.
  4. Yesterday, when asked by the favorite grocery man at Harris Teeter, ‘How are you doing?’ I responded, ‘Oh good, just a little tired of winter,’ to which he said, ‘Oh baby, you’ll be fine. Just one more month and spring is coming right around the corner! Springs coming baby, you’ll be fine.’ You probably have to know Gonza to fully appreciate this but he is the sweetest man who brightens any Harris Teeter run and normally makes you reflect on all your blessing.
  5. The ground hog didn’t see his shadow which means spring is coming six weeks earlier. Hallelujah.
  6. This means that when I get back from California, spring should be in full force.
  7. I’m going to California! And I wish I could take all my east coast pals.
  8. We went over to friends house last night and in a brilliant pioneer woman move, I invented a new recipe that changed plain ol’ oatmeal cookies into candied oatcake by doubling the amount of butter required.
  9. The storm that is rocking a huge chunk of the country missed us and instead just gave us nice some rain…which will make for a green spring. heh.
  10. I have such wonderful people surrounding me, far and near. Thanks for being amazing.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in friends, Life as it Happens, Year 3. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to things are looking brighter.

  1. Jana says:

    Oh Kels I love it! Glad you’re finding some positive things to cheer you up! And hey I heard it was supposed to be 60 today! That would be awesome. Talking to Gonza definitely makes you feel better. He’s so sweet and always positive. (I didn’t know what his name was till this) That’s so cool that you get to go to CA! Have fun!

  2. Melissa says:

    Glad your day is brighter! I also enjoy Gonza, when Carter was newborn, grocery shopping was tricky to say the least, and I would go to Harris Teeter just because I knew that he would be there to carry out my groceries and wish me a “blessed day”.
    And also for the free cookies and balloons!
    Have a wonderful time in California!

  3. Lindsey says:

    Braxton Loves Gonza…and Gonza loves Braxton! It’s adorable. I’m happy that you get to go to CA, and i would luv to jump in your carry-on and go with you. I’m sure I’ll be fine staying here though. 🙂

  4. Alisha says:

    Yeah Kels, hang in there. I think we got the storm here in Texas that missed you guys. It’s going to be 8 degrees tonight with a “real feel of 1.” Lovely. Plus the power keeps shutting off, so right when the house warms back up, it gets cold again. I am thinking about changing into a bear and sleeping all winter and only waking up in the warm months. Enjoy your trip to CA, and tell everyone hello for me!

  5. Abby says:

    Kels, we love you, you crazy lady! If I had a blog , I would blog to the world how wonderful this day makes my heart feel!!! Yay! Spring is that you?? (better not get my hopes up, I hear it’s gonna get cold again, ah well)

  6. Abbs says:

    Just thought I might add.., a perfectly muddy little boy just came running inside..” mommy!!mommy!! Look!!” mud splattered all over and a grin from ear to ear!! How I love warmth!

  7. Anya says:

    I thought of you as I took a walk this afternoon… hope it feels like this in Ch’ville today!

  8. Aunt Stace says:

    Way to go…looking at the bright side! I think I would be just like you if I lived in a wintery state. So, when I read about harsh winters, I cringe. Can’t wait to see you and Wes!

  9. Jeannine says:

    Well, Kels, you warm up my winter just by the grins you promote by all your interesting thoughts and reports! Happy you get to go to CA, also. Love you!

Leave a Reply

