Musically Challenged

This is my favorite spot in my home.

I like to just look at it, but I also love to sit on that bench and make melody.  When I was young, my favorite songs to play were quiet, soft, sweet songs. My goal was to put my dad to sleep. If I I heard snores when I finished my song, I felt so accomplished. Now, I just like to see how much noise I can create. Poor Wesley; he probably wouldn’t mind listening to a soothing tune now and then.

Some of my favorite evenings are spent with me crashing on the piano, Wesley strumming furiously on the guitar and both of us singing our hearts out. I love this. Love it. The problem occurs when I attempt to turn away from music.

I am surrounded by friends and family, (and a husband), who all, all play by ear. They seriously listen to a song once, maybe twice and then tinkle away on the ivories, (or various other instruments). It is so incredibly impressive and frustrating to a person who has followed those little black notes since age 8. And what’s even more frustrating is because of all those lessons and music classes I took, I totally understand the concept, I just can’t do it. Now that, my friends, is annoying. So, I’m trying teach myself. And that is when my favorite spot in my home can become my not so favorite place.

Teaching myself involves listening to the artist playing the song with one head phone in my ear and one ear free to listen to myself while the guitar tabs are pulled up. I pick up the chords and get the very basic structure of the song down (only while I’m still able to look a the chords) and then I listen to all the cool stuff the artist is adding, attempt to do that and say, ‘This is ridiculous, give me some sheet music.’ Then the other head phone goes into my ear so I can hear basically nothing else but the artist and I bang away like I’m a part of this wonderful band. I can only imagine what I sound like. Wes could probably tell you.

I am making a bit of progress with the help of Wes. Last week he told me, ‘Kels, stop fiddling around on the piano, listen to yourself sing and just play the chord.’ I did and was rather astonished with the results.

So, if any of my musically amazing friends have advice for me, I would be delighted to hear it.  You are a big part of my inspiration. The other part…imagining being able to bang away to anything I want…

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Musically Challenged

  1. Anya says:

    amen, little one. amen.

  2. your mother says:

    I find this post amazing…to know I gave birth to this talented person and I cannot play a note and if anyone sings next to me they politely cover their ear so they can “hear their note”. Your father will totally relate to this post and I’m sure you will hear from him how so!

  3. Aunt Stace says:

    Kudos to you for trying so hard! I can’t wait to read some advice either. I couldn’t play a tune by ear if my life depended on it. (we won’t count Jesus Loves Me. I’m pretty sure that one is memorized, not played by ear anyway.)

  4. Cathy says:

    Way to keep trying, Kels. I wish I would have taken lessons at an early age. I love to listen to music, just can’t read a note. (BTW,Lauren, No One holds their ear around you….you probably could sing a solo….maybe I will volunteer you on Friday nite. Ha Ha.)

  5. Jess says:

    Take it from me, your very musically-talented big cousin-in-law…one day you will compose music as I do and sing along while you do it. I’ll send you a few of my tricks…
    Oh, sorry, let me wake up – I’m with your mom in the musically talented part 🙂 People cover their ears next to me too, Auntie.

  6. abbs says:

    Kels,What are we doing? It’s 7 on Friday night, we’re supossed to be teaching each other beautiful music at MM right now! Uh.. I think we forgot our little plan. Ah well I guess there will be other sings

Leave a Reply

