The weather and Russel

The time was spring 2009. The place was Virginia. The conditions were awful.

As previously stated, my first winter here was deplorable. Even though I escaped to California in Decemeber, January, and February, I was still on pins and needles waiting for spring. March arrived and with it, my hopes of spring vanished. It was so cold and so rainy. I tried hard to pretend that spring really was coming and planted loads of little seedlings that I nurtured and cherished. If the temperatures reached the 50s, I’d put them outside hoping a little outdoor air would do them good.

And I can’t even tell you how many times I saved them from drowning.

These pictures were taken in May. I had waited all through March, April, and now May, and all it did was be dreary and cold!

I tried so hard not to complain about the weather, but whenever I did mention, ‘Gosh, sure seems like it’s been raining a lot,’ my dear brother-in-law Russel would say, ‘You just wait Kels, this is going to make for a green spring.’ I would try to just nod my head but when he was still saying it in April, it took all I had not to retort back with, ‘I don’t care! It’ll be green enough for me! I need not more green!’ So it did my heart much good when, toward the beginning of May, Russel looked out the window and exclaimed, ‘What is with this weather? All its done this spring is rain!’ I’m pretty sure I just demurely nodded my head and agreed. Pretty sure.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The weather and Russel

  1. I doubt it. I imagine Russell has filled in nicely for Davey as a substitute recipient of your ‘gentle input’. Does Russell realize yet how much he missed out on by not growing up with sisters?

  2. Pingback: things are looking brighter. | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

