Wes plus our family.

Last year, for Wesley’s birthday, my dad found this card and sent it to him.

Inside it says, ‘Resistance is futile, you’re still one of us. Happy birthday.’ I chortled as I looked at it and remarked to Wes, ‘actually this is backwards’. I chortled more when I opened the card up and saw Dad had written the same thing.

It’s true, Wesley is the nice one of the family. A few weeks ago, when Dad was composing 2010 achievements, he’d finished with Davey, Mom and me in quick order but he got a bit stuck when it came to Wes. I was listening to him read the letter and he remarked, ‘Gosh, I’m having trouble coming up with something for Wes. [insert chuckle] He’s so nice that it’s hard to write something mean about him…’

It’s not that the rest of the family isn’t nice (I hope), it’s just that Wesley is definitely a level above us all. For example, dinner time at the Ranch is never a quiet affair. The four of us jump all over each other as we attempt to ‘hold the floor.’ If you wave your arm frantically in the air, you might be recognized and get a little air time. If you have something you want to say, you best hurry up and say it with increased volume. When we were dating, Wesley would listen courteously and rarely get a word in edgewise. He does better now, and hopefully he’s rubbing off on us and we’re doing better with that whole ‘courteous listening’ thing.

The last time we were all together, Davey, Dad and Wes were working on the front yard of Journeys End. I had kyped a book from Davey’s room and was peacefully reading out back with Mom. Unfortunately, Davey came around back for a break and demanded his book back. I nicely presented my point of view as to why I should continue to read his book and he nicely presented his point of view why he should read his book. This kind discussion filled a few minutes time and we finally turned and said, ‘Mom..!’

Mom judged. ‘Kelsey give him the book.’

I muttered, ‘Ah crud, always knew he was the favorite child.’

‘Whatever,’ said Davey, ‘you are so the favorite child.’

‘Yeah right,’ I started, but mom interrupted with ‘Guys!’

Davey and I both looked at her and together said, ‘Mom, we were just kidding.’ ‘Besides,’ continued Davey, ‘we all know that Wesley’s the favorite one around here.’

Oh how we laughed.

But it just might be true.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in best of, family. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wes plus our family.

  1. your mother says:

    I just love the writers choice of words “I nicely presented my point of view as to why I should continue to read his book and he nicely presented his point of view why he should read his book.” Had the reader/viewer of this blog actually been present this is what they would have written: GIVE ME THAT BOOK BACK, YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO BE WORKING! DAD, DAVEY IS LOAFING AROUND. KELSEY YOU ARE THE DESCRIPTION OF A LOAF WHAT HAVE YOU DONE ALL DAY BESIDES SIT HERE WITH MOM THAT IS MY BOOK, HEY QUIT KICKING ME! MOM DO SOMETHING WITH HER. yes yes so sweet. : )

  2. Aunt Stace says:

    Kelsey: Next time get davey distracted with a little food. He’ll forget all about the book.

  3. Mel says:

    *Grin* It’s nice to know there ARE other families out there like ours. =) And if Wes is anything like Allan, he has a hidden wild streak in him (as I am typing this he is pretending to be a bucking bronco–a sight to behold. Brandon’s trying to rope him). We sure do enjoy all of you folk and your personalities.

  4. Abby says:

    So happy to hear your family is normal, ok so normal to me anyway. Which may or may not be normal

  5. amanda easley says:

    funny Kels 🙂

  6. Pingback: for you! ($25 Starbucks Card Giveaway!) | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

