New Year’s Party

First, a quick question. Are you supposed to celebrate the past year at new year’s parties or the one that is to come. Because if we’re supposed to be celebrating and welcoming the new year, we sure do choose a funny way to do it. I’m not sure I ever properly woke up on January 1. Didn’t exactly get a good jump on 2011.

Anyways, we definitely celebrated something and a lovely, crazy, hectic time was had by most, if not all.

The evening started off with a dinner of gourmet grilled cheese sandwiches. These were made to order and scrumptious. Our planning wasn’t exactly what it should have been because all the sudden we had a stack of around 110 orders come in. We all just kind of looked at each other like, ‘uh….’ and then jumped into high gear.

I really can’t remember the last time I have been in a setting that was so hectic. About five of us were scrambling over each other making the sandwiches, three were cooking and two or three delivered. We moved but that stack of orders hardly seemed to diminish in size. Finally, after making probably 150ish sandwiches, we got to make our own. And I hope everyone’s was as good as mine-sourdough with pepperjack, asiago, pesto, bacon, tomato, avocado, carmelized onions and apples. It was amazing.

The evening was full of a minute to win it games. These can be stressful. Particularly when all are counting down, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, … Wes and I were hoarse by around 10:00.

The most highly anticipated game was dropping mentos into diet coke. All sorts of folks participated in this round, but only a few were lucky enough to see results.

The intense concentration was great and the amount of competition it stirred as more and more attempted and failed caused many a chuckle.

Kids, try this at home. Great fun.

We ended the evening trying to see how many mentos you could fit in one before it exploded. The result was quickly determined. Not to many. Trey got showered.

Great party. Glad I have a few days before I think about the next one. And a huge thanks to Zeke who got everything together.

Happy New Years.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in friends, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year’s Party

  1. Kristy says:

    I really appreciated all of y’all’s work. Fantastic time!

  2. Amy Dunavant says:

    Thanks you guys for the grand time.We enjoyed it : )

Leave a Reply

