Such Angst.

Last week, Thursday to be exact, I was awaiting a knock at the door. My mother had told me that a package was to be delivered to me Wednesday or Thursday. Since Wednesday passed by unnoticed, Thursday was to be the day. I woke up dreaming about this package. It was full of stuff from New York. So full, in fact, that my mother could not even squeeze a bag of Taco Works chips inside. I had watched everyone at home on Skype get there New York presents and I was panting with excitement to get mine. Its not everyday your parents go to New York and buy you things.

I had a nice morning waiting for the mail lady. Sipped a latte, ate some citrus bread with ears pricked for the sound of the mail lady. The morning dragged on even as I busied myself picking up my house. Every car that went by had me rushing towards the window. When the heater would turn on, I’d stop whatever I was doing to see if that was the noise of the mail lady coming down the driveway. Occasionally, I’d bundle up to walk out to the mail box to see if today was not the day. I was in great angst because I had to be at work before 2 pm and I knew I had to sign for this package and to leave before the mail came seemed a great trial.

Finally, at 1:20, I decided I could delay no longer. I pulled out of the driveway and lo and behold, mail was in the mail box. Somehow I had completely missed the mail lady. So much for my pricked ears. And there was no package. I sniffed and continued on my way to work saying, ‘alas.’

The next morning I was a bit more relaxed about things. Wes was home and we had a nice morning together. I soon became convinced that the post office was closed because they were not answering they’re phones and I resigned myself to a weekend without my package.

We headed out to go prepare for our New Year’s Party and when we were about 2.6 minutes down the road, I hollered out, ‘Wes! The mail lady! And she has a package in the back! Quick! Stop!’ We pulled into a driveway and I hopped out to ask her if she’d give me my package. But she pulled away right as I got to her vehicle. It was a bit of a let down.

So we went back home to wait in the driveway for the mail lady. I have a very patient husband. Just when I told Wes, ‘this is taking forever for her to get here, maybe we should go chase her down,’ she came around the corner.

I hopped out, smiled sweetly at the mail lady and signed for my package. After a flurry of trying to find something to open it up, I finally laid my eyes on some treasures from New York.

I’ve been dying for a winter hat and this is such a luscious one.

A lovely pin and bracelet.

And a few other jewels.

So glad I didn’t have to spend the weekend without them.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Such Angst.

  1. Wow. Patient husband.
    Can we get a picture of you in the hat please?

  2. your mother says:

    now i need to get some things together for wesley! and mail it up to the shop and surprise him!! i still marvel at his patience!

  3. Kristy Cotten says:

    packages are such fun. i’m that same way if i’m expecting one! yours looked like fun. 🙂

  4. Brookie says:

    hii dont you love the pin? i was real jealous of your hat by the way…i wanna see a pic 😀

    • love the pin. love the hat. right now my nose is the size of texas from continually honking (i’ve carried around a roll of toilet paper for 3 days and i’m now on to the next roll) so i am not too photogenic

  5. Jana says:

    That’s so fun! I’m glad you got it before you had to come work like crazy on the party! 🙂

  6. Janet says:

    Love the hat!

Leave a Reply

