beauty and the beast.

We have been a one car family for much too long. This means that my in laws have been a one car less family as I’ve been borrowing my FIL’s monster Ford truck. I’m sorta embarrassed when I think about how long I drove the thing. And I’m grateful that they don’t mind being somewhat of a car rental facility. So thank you FIL and MIL.

And now I’ll say that I didn’t really enjoy commuting in the truck.

Its huge. Its a bit of a beast.  I had to grunt to get out of my driveway and usually ended up touring the weeds on the other side of the road as its turning radius is somewhat lacking for my road. I felt a bit like a terror in parking lots.

And then, Wesley got me this little number.

This is my second Forrester. I’m not sure if this picture adequately conveys the nerdyness of Forresters. Wes bought me my first Forrester after I’d been driving this baby down the highways.

To say that I felt like a complete nerd bombing down the roads in a Forrester after sweetly cruising along in this Infiniti could be considered an understatement.

But back to my current Green Thing. It came complete with bumper stickers declaring world peace and grow fresh grow local. As a Forrester, it still is as nerdy as ever. But I seriously just float down the highway. I feel like I have wings when I pull out of my driveway. The road rises to meet me as I cruise along. I love it.

Perspective is a beautiful thing.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens, Year 3. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to beauty and the beast.

  1. Anya says:

    you are adorable, kels. no matter what you’re driving.

  2. david earl bowin the dad says:

    The residents of Vermont and Berkeley are standing up and applauding.

  3. david earl bowin the dad says:

    Anya, excellent point. I agree. Kelsey you need to give the crusher some blog space. You looked great driving that beauty, but then again, just about everyone looks good driving the crusher.

  4. sara hunt says:

    I also have had a Forester, I’m now driving a 4Runner and REALLY miss my “Subby”. Theres nothing like a Subaru! I really like the ’09 Forester. World peace everyone.

  5. Brookie says:

    Yeah…Subaru is way too underrated! thanks for giving them a little shout out. Gotta love em.

  6. fellow subie owner and little BIL =) says:

    gotta love the subaru kels

  7. Aunt Stace says:

    I JUST THOUGHT OF SOMETHING!! You sold the Element? The one you worked so hard to learn to drive?
    Also, I’m with your BIL on the Subaru. Good little cars.

  8. Melissa says:

    I understand how you feel, after not having a car for a year, and driving a monster truck when I had to, I am content with my little Ford Focus station wagon. Its not pretty, and it definitely screams soccer mom, but that’s okay!

  9. Pingback: a rich day | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

