I dreamed a dream

The other Saturday morning as we leisurely woke up, Wes asked me what I wanted to do during the day. This in itself, is a rarity. Most Saturdays already have their plans all laid out, usually with a trip to the shop to do a little something on a car and then hopping over here to fix a problem there, etc. So I had to think about what I wanted to do. Then I remembered the dream I had whilst slumbering. It was about dining room tables. So I said, ‘Well, I had a dream about dining room tables, maybe we could work on transforming ours.’

And there was our plan for the Saturday. Within the hour we had our table loaded up and were headed toward the shop.

I’ve never really liked our table. Before we were married, I saw it at a Pier 1 in California and called up aย Pierย 1 in Virginia to see if they had it. They did, I bought it and Wes picked it up to take to our home. But when I finally saw it, the color looked different to me and it just sort of blended in to our wood floor.

It was, however, very functional, and we had many a good time around it so it didn’t bother me too much. I was also very hesitant to change it. I’m not a total project person and I was scared I would destroy. Wes was very confident though so I figured it wouldn’t be too much of a big deal.

We began the stripping down project. I did the legs while Wes worked on a car. Then I sanded the table top,

while Wes worked on the legs.

After lots of readjusting and squinting and frowning in concentration, we dubbed it good enough. And I really like it.

I’m not really sure that the finished product was what I had dreamed but nonetheless, I’m pleased. And it was fun to have a project to fool around with Wes on. Now if I can just find my ‘chandelier’.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens, Year 3. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I dreamed a dream

  1. Stacy says:

    Love the transformation!

  2. Great job! looks beautiful and interesting!

  3. Shanny says:

    How fun. I love it!

  4. Thank you ladies ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Jess says:

    Nice work! I love what you did with the top!

  6. Cathy says:

    Wow! That was a day well spent…the contrast is really nice! Great job!

  7. david earl bowin the dad says:

    very nice. Much better than your mother’s and my first project (or 2nd, 3rd, etc.)

  8. your mother says:

    looks marvelous! and BTW you were right deciding to painting chairs white!! : ) it all looks really good. now to come back there and do some re-arranging of furniture…wonder what we could come up with this time??

  9. Melanie says:

    Ok…Kels…it’s too cute/pretty…love it. But honestly, did you really do ALL that in one Saturday? Right now, I’m looking around my house thinking, “Gee, no progress today. All regress. Honestly, I did some laundry, cleaned the bathrooms and did some dishes and it looks like we had 27 toddlers over to play.” Love the kiddos, though.

    • chuckle. like the mental image of the 27 toddlers. and it sounds like you did make some progress. we did the table in one day, i think wes cleared it on sunday and then i did the chairs on another saturday. we don’t have any cherubs to interfere. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

