A knock at the door…

Could mean many things. But if I’m home alone, and someone knocks at my door, my heart immediately speeds up a notch and I immediately either hide or try to figure how I can peep at whoever is knocking at my door without being seen.

One such time I was in our bedroom when a knock sounded at the door. I held my breath and didn’t move. Don’t ask me why. After I felt sure that the person was gone, I stealthily moved towards the window to see if I could catch a glimpse of a retreating back. My heart thumped painfully when another series of knocks interrupted my stealthiness. I peered out the window and saw a huge Lowes truck. This made me feel safe so I went to the door and answered. A chagrined Lowes delivery man stood there holding my mail box and half of the post. A free new post and new mailbox later, I was glad I had answered the door.

Yesterday, I was sitting at the computer, when a knock sounded at the door. I froze. Then thought, due to snowy conditions, someone might need help. So I stealthily approached the front door. I peaked around the fireplace…and saw no one. So I continued on to the front door and then saw the mail lady getting back into her jeep. These are the best door knocks. Because I was positive that there would be a package waiting on my door step. And sure enough. A package.

Packages from home are the best. I love opening them. You never know what will be inside. I’ve received dried chili peppers, ziploc bags, beautiful sparkly gold bangles, necklaces from Ecuador, essays that I’d written in the 6th grade, chapstick, cell phone chargers, artwork from my father and more.

This still makes me chortle. I believe this came with one of the first packages when I was still calling home asking how to cook chicken or how long to boil eggs. Actually, I think every time I boil eggs I still call my mom, ‘uh, 5 mins on high, then pot off lid on for 15 mins…?’

This package was mostly from Grama with a touch from mom. And it was lovely.

I can’t remember the last time I’ve had See’s Candy. And Grama filled it with my favorite flavors. So wonderful. Mom threw in a bag of Taco Works, my absolute favorite chip. There were some old books from Grama and some cute stationary and a few more jewels.

So lesson learned? Its usually good things at the door. Usually.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, Year 3. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

