Well the weather outside is frightful…

My parents are cracking me up. They’re on the east coast, a little north of us in New York, and they cannot believe this weather. Dad texted me and said, ‘I’m impressed you live on the east coast. I need a scarf and a Russian hat.’ I told him it was about time.

My mother texted me this afternoon and said, ‘Just so you know how cold it is I’m wearing this and this and this and this and this and this and this and I’m still cold.’ Mother, welcome to my world. What a chuckle. They’ve been back here once in the winter since we’ve been married. It was that first winter with Basil when it was bitter. They were in a frenzy (sorta) trying to find all the correct Virginia winter garb. Mom was buying boots left and right. Davey was hollering that he needed a coat.

They arrived and brought with them amazingly warm weather. At the beginning of the week my dear brother was walking on our pool.

By the end of the week, the pool was just a pool. No ice to be found. So they just scoffed at my winter horror stories.

And now they’re back here. And I’m chuckling. It’s 25 degrees and snowing.

I actually drove these roads today. Wesley said, ‘Oh, you’ll be fine.’ I’ve never driven in such weather and was questioning my and his sanity as I crept along. I managed to return in one piece and tromped around a bit so you could see the harsh conditions I live in.

It is pretty in its own way. It’s just hard to fathom at times, that I live in such conditions.

As my father just told me, ‘I can’t believe you live in this nonsense.’

Chuckle.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens, Year 3. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Well the weather outside is frightful…

  1. Dad says:

    My ears hurt.

  2. Kristy says:

    chuckle chuckle….

  3. your mother says:

    i only thought it was cold like this in Antarctica, I had no idea my precious daughter could survive such harsh weather! : ) one thing i might add: we are out tromping ALL over in this weather, you know your father…scoffs at taxi’s and thinks we can just “hoof it” everywhere. it has been fun but i truly have never been colder than this. great blog work by the way. ms. mayfield would be proud and ms. simmons

    • oh gosh. ms. mayfield would have red marks over everything. by the time she corrected all my punctuation problems, i’d probably be down to a ‘c’. ms simmons would just say, ‘way to go hurley’. glad you’re having fun. hope you’ve been able to buy me lots of presents 🙂

  4. Melissa says:

    I admire your courage – this weather must be quite an adjustment. Love your sense of humor also!

    • hi! and thanks 🙂 yeah, first winter, could see nothing funny about my predicament. a few winters later, i’m able to see a little humor around me. will see how long it lasts. might have to high tale it back to cali next month for a breather. give your kiddos a squeeze from me.

  5. Stacy says:

    When I SEE it, it looks so pretty, I want to be in it. When I’m IN it, I don’t like it. I don’t think we Californians are acclimated to cold weather. In other words, we’re wimps. 🙂
    BTW, nice driving in the snow. Can’t believe you didn’t slide all over. Were you driving the trusty AWD Subaru? Uncle Dave will be proud!

    • i’d like to be a wimp 🙂 i did slide once but other than that, things were ok. and i’m still in phillips truck. which made me feel more comfortable. got a handle of that down shifting thing instead of breaks. was feeling pretty proud of myself.

  6. Jess says:

    OHHHH! I LOVE the cold and the snow — this Californian is from Northern California — snow is soooo amazing! I think we should do a house swap some time–from say, September to April or May. Yep, I think we should!

  7. sara says:

    Yeah we leave in five days to see your snow! Hope there’s still some left! Can’t wait to see” ya’ll “

Leave a Reply

