the more later

Sunday night, some of us young folks got together and acted out part of the story of Joseph. We were given chapters 37 and 39 of Genesis to demonstrate. Wes read the chapters to me and J on Saturday night and my first thought was, ‘hmm, now how are we going to make this PG for all the kids in the audience.’

We threw around ideas that evening and by the time Sunday morning rolled around, I already had my outfit all planned out. I, of course, was dying to play the risqué part of Potiphar’s wife.  I pondered how to play the part well without playing it too well. After much snorting and head shaking from Wesley, I decided to go ask the very man who had chosen these chapters.

“Hi, Mr. Martin. I’m playing Potiphars wife tonight and I was wondering if you had any ideas on how to keep things PG.”

“PG?”

“Yeah, like, should I use the Bible as my script?”

“Oh, no! No. No words, just use your eyelids and stuff like that.”

I chuckled and agreed and went off on my merry way.

We all met up around 5:30 to do a dry run and I’ll have to say I was quite impressed. The ad libbing was phenomenal. All of Josephs brothers did a great job of popping off and clearly expressing their opinion of him.

The brothers mocking dreamer boy Joseph.

Jacob weeping upon seeing Joseph’s torn and bloody coat of many colors, (thanks for the loan of the bathrobe Frank). And look at that hypocritical brother attempting to comfort him. tsk.

And then Potiphar’s wife comes on the scene and attempts to ‘deceive’ Joseph.

‘Why don’t you sit right here beside me Joseph, right here’.

And then things get angry. And pretty much every picture after this my mouth is wide open. Wide open.

And yes, Potiphar is about two feet shorter than Potiphar’s wife. This added to the humor.

All in all, wonderful time was had by all. It was fun to see it come together in a short amount of time and have everyone working/playing together. I was hoping to throw in a musical number (put on your running shoes) but we were a bit pressed for time. Maybe next performance.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in friends. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to the more later

  1. Lana M. says:

    You are kinda completely crazy. I can just picture you getting the ok to use your eyelids etc. Too funny. Looks like a fun time. When you said “headed to Broadway”, I thought maybe you were going to get to go meet your mom and dad in NYC.

  2. Kristy says:

    oh my gosh!!! how I wish we’d been here to see those eyelids in action! : ) I’ll bet the whole thing was hilarious! Anybody get a video?

  3. Wow Kels! I am so impressed, I would pay good money to get that video! Miss you!

Leave a Reply

