It happened.

I’ve been dreading this for years. And it happened.

Last night we went to Fredericksburg with Wesley’s siblings, all crammed in a Forrester Subaru, along with many an instrument so that the guys could make melody with a saxophonist. Lovely melody was made and then we all piled back in the car for the trip home. We arrived at Ace at 11:30, got in our respective vehicles and continued the drive home. I had parked the truck at a pharmacy after work and carpooled with my dear brother-in-law J up to the shop because I dislike having to drive two cars all the way home. So Wes dropped me off at CVS, I got in the 26 deg car and began to follow him home.

I pulled onto the highway after him, got in the fast lane and revved by him while carefully monitoring my speed. I was trying to get the engine going a bit in the hopes that my tush would soon be thawed by the seat warmer. When I reached the speed limit, I turned my blinker on and got in front of Wes and settled in for the remaining few miles.

And then lights came flashing on behind me. I have imagined this scenario so many times. It usually goes like this in my mind. The police man pulls me over, asks me if I know why he as pulled me over, and I sniff, and say, ‘Well, I was going 7 over.’ However, this time, I had so consciously watched my speed and I knew that I had not been speeding. And I had no idea why I was being pulled over. So I did what I heard cousin Brad say. I turned on the interior lights, and put my hands on the wheel.

I waited, and eventually a policeman stealthily approached the truck. He kind of made me nervous, and I wondered if it would have made him feel better if I’d stuck my hands out the window. He made it to my window and informed me that I had not used my blinker to turn on to the highway but had used my blinker to change lanes in front of Wes. I was tempted to tell him that I’d always heard to never trust a blinker and had become somewhat discouraged with the whole idea but refrained. Instead, I told him, no I had not been drinking, yes my father-in-law knew I had his truck (thanks Phillip), yes that man who also pulled over is my husband (thank goodness he did, I would have felt abandoned), etc. He was a bit brusque.

Then, he went over and talked to Wes. Not sure what transpired but when he came back to me, he was friendly as ever, made some nice commentary and then sent me on my merry way.

So it happened. And nothing really happened. Hallelujah.  Hopefully any more experiences will be similar.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It happened.

  1. Dad says:

    Much better ending than the $289 I just mailed in.

  2. Shanny says:

    What a fabulous ending to a nail biting story. Whew.

  3. Kris says:

    lucky you! i was not quite so fortunate… ouch is right!

  4. B says:

    Now was this CHP or VSP? Important information.

  5. your mother says:

    kelsey…CHP= California Highway Patrol. VSP=Virginia State Police. I don’t know why it is a issue but apparently it is.

  6. Lindsey says:

    Wow. what an exciting story! I’m glad it ended well for you.

  7. Cathy says:

    Glad all ended well! Kind of a picky patrolman…He must have been bored. I have recently started reading your blog. It is as enjoyable as you are! Good job writing!

Leave a Reply

