brookie!

Today, I’d like to feature Brooke. She’s my cousin. Our moms are sisters. When the four of us get together, Brooke and I shake our heads at how weird our moms are. Its nice to be able to shake your head occasionally at family and its nice to have someone to do it with. I look forward to the day when Brooke and I are the weird ones, gasping for air at some dumb joke one of us made and our kids just sit there and shake their heads at us, stubbornly trying not to laugh.

Today is Brookie’s birthday. She’s the youngest in her family, I’m the oldest. As a baby with older siblings, she fought for her right to toys, food, etc. I was the lonely only for a spell and never had to fight for anything. This created some great home videos when the two of us were together. Brooke would bull dozer over me and I’d sit and wonder what had just happened.

Me and Brooke have now been friends for 21 years. Gosh that seems like a long time. And we have pictures to prove it. Some of them are doozers. Remember the classic one of us on the hearth at your old house Brooke? But I found this one the other day and its a beauty so I thought I’d share it with you in honor of dear Brookie.

Aren’t we just adorable? I believe we were around eight here being such a help to my parents while redoing Journeys End. And can you believe this is Journeys End?

I love being with Brooke. We fuss at each other, we laugh at each other, we cry together, and we discuss the the nitty gritty details of life. She’s one of my skyping buddies. When she comes and visits me, we’re comfortable doing nothing, or bombing around doing everything. It’s nice. It’ll also be nice if she came out a bit more. heh. hint hint.

Happy birthday brookie! Very thankful to have such a cousin as you.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, friends. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to brookie!

  1. your mother says:

    oh yes Brookie has a few famous lines…age 3ish right after sunday meeting running over to you and getting right in your face grinning “ya wanna come over to my house and watch a bideo”? that was such a proud moment for her mother! har har.

  2. Uncle Dave says:

    Very nice Kelsey! So many great memories of you both.

  3. Lana says:

    That’s really sweet Kelsey. I think Brooke is pretty special too. In case you read this Brooke, Happy happy birthday! LM

  4. Dad says:

    Very nice. Brooke is a great niece and a good friend.

  5. Stacy says:

    Yes, it’s been fun watching you two grow up together! Very different personalities that compliment each other very well. I’m so happy you’re close cousins!

  6. Brookie says:

    just realized I never commented! how rude! Love the picture of us scraping wall paper. I remember that day clear as a bell. So many fun times together 🙂 PS sorry for terrorizing you as a tot. Hope there was no permanent damage! Love you

  7. Pingback: and we’re going hipstamatic! | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

