My Mother Wants a Voice

Chuckle. She sent me a document and asked if it might be published on my blog. While I feel a little funny posting a story about myself I don’t feel funny enough not to do it. heh. So here you have it from that mother of mine…

I’ve noticed that the subject of food has crept into this blog and no surprise there, sitting down to eat has always been a favorite past time of our family.It still is my
favorite part of the day!

I felt like I needed to get this story down in print before it left my memory.

The other day, I pulled into the local Trader Joe’s parking lot to add a few more items to the already overflowing car that had just left Costco. Just as I went flying down an aisle my cell phone started ringing. ‘who the heck is calling me’ I thought. ‘Oh it’s Kelsey’.  I answered it all cheerful since I had not heard from her in a couple of days.

“Hi Missy”.

“HiMom,Idonthavetimetotalk.Ineedtoknowif$3.79istooexpensivetopayforfreshmozzerella.”

“um, no that is normal price unless you can get it at Trader Joe’s or Costco”

“okbye”

‘Well gosh, guess I will talk to her some other time,’ I thought.

Ring Ring says the cell phone.

Kelsey must have called by mistake.

“Hi Kelsey”

“snicker,snicker, chuckle, chuckle, har, har”

“uh Kelsey I thought you were busy at the grocery store?”

“Well I am but, snicker snicker, I just walked past some raspberry lemonade,
chuckle, chuckle, and it reminded me of right before my wedding, har, har, you
asked me to stop at the store and get it so you could get all the punch made and I
didn’t do it and you got all fussy at me,” more chuckles.

I took a deep breath rolled my eyes and asked “why can’t you ever remember the
times when we had a house full of people showing up for the weekend and you
were at school all day, arrived home to a clean house, dinner cooked and you had
done none of it and I was cheerful??”

“um, because Mom that is not even funny”

Motherhood=a roller coaster ride, strap in, hang on, there is no getting off!

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Mother Wants a Voice

  1. Stacy says:

    Oooooohhh….a guest blogger! Great idea and great story.

  2. Lindsey says:

    Love the Motherhood quote! I’m sure I’ll be finding out that that is true, in the years to come. Thanks for your story Aunt Lauren! Love you Kels!

  3. your mother says:

    now please move forward with the post that includes better pictures of your brother…i am tired of seeing him look like he crawled out from under a rock here.
    because I’m your mother that’s why. har har that line just makes me LOL.

Leave a Reply

