I am thankful for…

This wonderful man.

We’ve been married for two years and two months and I seriously still have those moments where I look at him and mentally pinch myself. That this amazing guy married me is something I still wonder at.

In pretty much every aspect of life that I struggle with, Wesley excels. You might have guessed, if you read about my travels with Grampa and Grama, that Wesley has bountiful patience. I’m working on that. I try to take my cues from him.

The other weekend, I had been a big fusser to Wes. I said I was sorry, and he gave me a hug and told me all was well. We were out working in the yard and I was sniffling at what an awful person I was as I pulled down a poison ivy vine down upon myself. I finally told him, ‘I keep wondering when I’ll just fuss too much, and you’ll just like, get all angry with me and be mad.’ sniffle sniffle.

Wes looked up from the wood pile and said, ‘Oh, no Kels, it’s forgiveness week!’

This increased my sniffling because whatever I need, be it forgiveness, encouragement, patience, it’ll always be ‘that week’ for Wes. He really is my better half and I strive to emulate him.

That I can live out my days with him is an incredible blessing I do not deserve and I thank God for him.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in friends, Happiness, Life as it Happens, Year 3. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I am thankful for…

  1. Dad says:

    Sniffle sniffle

  2. Uncle Dave says:

    aww Kels….that’s a sweet write up about Wesley. I hope his mother reads it, mothers like to read these kinds of things about their boys. And, I’m especially happy that Wes is wearing my favorite shirt in his featured photo.

  3. Kristy says:

    Kels, I so appreciate all the thankful thoughts you’ve been posting. You’ve reminded me to count my blessings, too! For one, I’m thankful to have you for a friend; you always bring along a little sunshine wherever you go!

  4. Kristy says:

    BTW…I can totally relate to your story about being a fusser, being sorry and sniffling about being an awful person; been there many a time. Ian is ALWAYS so patient with me, too, and loves me in spite of all my flaws. I am thankful for my wonderful man, too.

  5. david earl bowin iv says:

    all that, plus he’s smoking hot!

  6. Anya says:

    aw, kels, this post made me choke up… can totally relate (but again, i’m all sappy and a mom and stuff) πŸ™‚

  7. Kristy Cotten says:

    hi kelsey….i’m posting a little late on this one, but i had to comment. i too can relate! the Lord has blessed me with such a wonderful and patient man! it’s nice to know others have been in the same boat, with some of the same feelings πŸ™‚ guess we are all growing and learning! thanks for entertaining blog.

Leave a Reply

