I am thankful for…

Prayer.

It’s something I don’t completely understand. I get frustrated if I think about the ends and outs of it too hard. But I’ve felt it work and have been grateful for the peace praying can give.

A few months ago I was mentally raging about this certain problem. I hashed it out with Wesley, and we attacked it from every angle. And while that helped some, I still got into bed and tossed and turned and tossed and turned just trying to bring sense to this problem. About two hours into this mental battle, I had the thought, ‘oh, I should pray about this.’ So I closed my eyes and started out with, ‘Lord’, and immediately my entire being just relaxed and I just sank into the bed. I continued praying and when I was done I just thought, ‘Whoa, I should remember to do that more often, particularly at the beginning of a mental war and not after I’ve been battling with myself for hours.’

Another such time occurred a few years ago. It was a cold winter day and I had finished working and had come out of the office to find my little beetle bug dead as a doornail. For some reason, this just really bothered me. Not sure why, but I was in danger of becoming emotional over a dead battery. Uncle Dave lived a few minutes from where I worked and I called him to come to the rescue. After the call, I strongly lectured myself, saying ‘Kelsey, get over it, you cannot be like this when Uncle Dave gets here. He’ll ask you what happened and you’ll just burst into tears. Stop, now!’

My lecture wasn’t helping too much and I was not looking forward to becoming a spouting fountain the moment Uncle Dave looked at me. I happened to glance over in the passenger seat and there happened to be my bible. I picked it up and turned to Psalms and a verse popped out at me about thanking the Lord for all your blessings. So I closed my eyes and started to do just that.

I was thankful for my parents, my amazing boyfriend, the fact that I had a dumb car, that Uncle Dave lived so close,  to know that the Lord was my Savior, etc. etc.

I opened my eyes and saw Uncle Dave pulling in the parking lot. I felt not a trace of emotion and was able to confer with him about my dumb car.  Uncle Dave gave her a jump and we were off. And I drove away with that same thought, ‘gosh, I need to remember to do that sooner.’

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I am thankful for…

  1. Jana says:

    Good reminders Kels! Thanks!

  2. Dad says:

    I can relate. We must be related! The only additions that would have made this a perfect post would have been a pic of uncle Dave and the beetle bug. I should remember to pray for that young man who bought the beetle.

  3. your mother says:

    good thoughts. even at 48 years old i still am learning this. i can remember to pray for others and what they are going through or thanking the Lord for all he has blessed me with but when it comes to MY attitude or MY problems i hold on to them and try to fix it MY way until i finally give it all to Him and lay it at His feet. what a constant refuge! I like Fanny Crosby’s song “The Peace that Jesus Gives”.

  4. Uncle Dave says:

    I remember that day, you hid your emotions very well!

Leave a Reply

