I am thankful for…

Skype!

Seriously. What did I do without it? My cell phone works at my house if:

There are no leaves on the trees.

The sky is cloudless.

The wind is blowing ever so slightly.

And the stars are aligned properly.

My cell phone can be one of the more frustrating things in my life. I’ve gone out in driving rain, freezing cold conditions to sit in the frozen car to be able to carry on a conversation.

I have sweltered through many a call sitting outside on my bricks in the dead of summer heat getting those last few details. A policeman even stopped once to ask me if I was ok. My life is tough, I know.

And then, all of the sudden, there was skype. I was able to talk to my dogs again! They would prick their ears, cock their head, and then go run find mom when I told them to ‘go ask mom for a treat.’ It made me feel so much more in touch.

Sometimes me and my mom will have it on for most of the day. One such day, skype was running in the beach room, and I was in the kitchen, merrily making some dudes. I turned my kitchen-aid off and lo-and behold, I could hear mom running hers. It just makes me happy. We’re 3000 miles apart but we’re cooking together.

And then I’m able to have these intellectually stimulating conversations with my brother.

He usually hangs up way before I’m done.

I get to chat with my adorable cousin Audrey.

And Wes and I can visit with my parents like we’re all in the same room.

Yes, Skype is a lovely thing. For these reasons and more that I did not digress upon, I am thankful.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I am thankful for…

  1. Dad says:

    If I could do kathryn’s, “uahhh”, I would.

  2. your mother says:

    Keksey, are you trying to reduce your mother and MIL to puddles this week??! If so, it is successful . Plus I am now bugging Dad for a plane ticket back there : ) Tears and nagging in the home today….just what Dad loves. : ) hugs to you.

  3. Lana M. says:

    Must say, the last couple of posts have been really sweet. Also, gotta love the foam curlers on your mom. 🙂

  4. Jess says:

    I love this! Kels, I’m just sad we don’t skype you more often…sorry ’bout that 🙂

  5. Pingback: for you! ($25 Starbucks Card Giveaway!) | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

