young at heart.

The other day/week/month, we were in Texas. We stayed at my aunt and uncles and had a great time with the family and their three lovely rambunctious kiddos. They have this great rope swing in the yard and that was the feature attraction on Saturday morning. First, the kids had full control.

Packy, what a cute kid. Park waited patiently.

Ms. Ave got her turn and twirled about.

And then it was Davey’s turn. Strong man Phil gave him a push.

You can do it Phil!

Yay!

Chuckle. Anyways, Davey eventually decided that he would use the swing for other purposes and proceeded to scale it.

He made it to the top and we all cheered.

All that exertion made us hungry so we quit the swing activities and headed back inside for brunch. Then I heard Gram hiss, ‘Kelsey! Come quick and bring your camera!’ I quick footed back to where she was, rounded the corner and saw this.

Yes, the moment everyone turned away, my 84 year old Grampa was testing the rope to see how he would fare. He lifted himself off the ground once or twice, then saw me, Grama, and Gram peaking at him and sheepishly chuckled.

Such a funny, wonderful man.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, Travels, Year 3. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to young at heart.

  1. laurie says:

    oh my gosh! this is the best. made me smile. thanks kels.

  2. your mother says:

    ah yes sooo typical of grampa. he definitely has the ability to make us all smile or laugh out loud! good post, made me chuckle at all you captured with your camera. and remember your mothers motto: “14 laughs a day for good mental health”.

  3. david earl bowin iv says:

    this was funny. i didn’t know gramps did that.

  4. Jess says:

    So awesome!

  5. amanda easley says:

    Aww how sweet is this! What cute kids and grandparents. Lovely lady in the brown vest in the background too….:)

Leave a Reply

