ooh honey, look at that.

This is a flashback to our travels with Grama and Grampa. I forgot to add this story and it makes me chuckle everytime I think of it so here goes.

On Thursday morning, the first day of our travels, Grama and I were riding along in the backseat and she was telling me about a similar trip they had taken with my parents back in 1988. They had ended up at my moms parents house and Grama overheard my mom telling her mom about the trip. A midst a few chuckles, mom said, ‘Oh, about every few minutes, Ruth would lean forward and tell Dave, ‘oooh, honey, would you look at that!’ and would point out a various tree, bush, flower, or mountain.’

Grama thought this was quite funny because mom didn’t know that she overheard and grama recognized the truth of the statement. By the end of the day, I was about ready to die because every few minutes, Grama would lean forward, tug Grampa’s sleeve and say, ‘ooh honey, look at that!’ And Gramps would obliging look and try to snap a picture of the scenery.

He got some great pictures of guard rails.

Anyways, I finally told Grama that she was doing a great job with her previous track record from 1988 with the ‘ooh honeys’. Grama thought this was hilarious and we had a good laugh over it.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, Travels, Year 3. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ooh honey, look at that.

  1. Dad says:

    Uncle Dave should appreciate this. I heard he had several good guardrail shots on their cross country journey. You should get Brooke to do a guest post of traveling cross country with the parents. Get her to add the little bitty about her mom hot footing it across the truck stop parking lot with her skirt (the one she was wearing at the time) tucked nicely into her purse.

  2. Stacy says:

    Dave couldn’t find his camera fast enough to capture the famous skirt tuck. The Lord was looking out for me that day.

Leave a Reply

