Our Story, Newly-Wed Status

Today I’m feeling a flash to the past, so I decided to recall my first days at home with Wes at work.

After an amazing wedding, exotic honeymoon, and a few days of exploring Charlottesville together, (and grocery stores), Wes went back to work

I knew that many new brides cried that entire day, but I was kind of excited. I wanted to putter around in my house, do a little organization, read a book, compose an email or two and concentrate on making dinner. I just loved our house and was ready to get to know it.

The first meal I made was chicken stir fry with top ramen in it. My mom made me a great cook book of some of my favorite meals and this was in it.  As far as cooking I had done at home, I was pro at making rice and cookies. So needless to say I was on the phone with my mom quite a bit while I was figuring out how to work the kitchen. My family thought it was hilarious that I was texting my mom and asking her how to cook chicken.

Nonetheless, I whipped out a fabulous meal of chicken stir fry and was very very pleased with myself. Especially when Wes looked at me like I was the most amazing cook ever. He was pretty good with those looks. My next few ventures for dinner included: turkey salad sandwiches,

tacos (hurray), burritos, and Cajun chicken pasta. Yes, I was quite pleased with myself. The only near miss that happened in the kitchen in those first few weeks of cooking occurred when I first used the oven. I was happily making dudes,

Wesley came into check out the dough, we took a picture of ourselves enjoying the fruits of my labor

when Wes noticed that smoke was coming from the oven. He sprung into action, whipped the door open and lo and behold… When you buy a new oven, it comes equipped with cardboard, cleaner, guarantees, and possibly a recipe or two. Well, who thinks about that when they’re happily making dudes? Not me, hence the burning cardboard at the bottom of the oven.

No harm was done, Wes cleaned up the embers and 10 minutes later we were enjoying nice hot dudes.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Our Story, year 1. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our Story, Newly-Wed Status

  1. Stacy says:

    I love the story when you were at the grocery store shopping for chicken. You were a little unsure of how big of a chicken you should purchase, hence, a phone call to your mother. She asked “well, how big is the chicken you’re looking at?” You told her it was “about an octave”!! Being a piano player, it made total sense to me. Measuring chickens…C to C…whatever works!!

  2. Dad says:

    “nice hot dudes”? What audience are you trying to reach here, Kels? I thought we raised you better.

Leave a Reply

