Former Farmer

I don’t know how many of you are familiar with Pearls before Swine but its one of my favorite comic strips for reasons like this:

Moments like this occur often in my family and when the confusion is made clear to one member, ‘Former farmer,’ is usually hollered. Such an incident occurred the other day while I was chatting with my dear brother on skype.

There he is attentively listening to me.

‘Guess what I’m doing tomorrow,’ said he.
‘Going to school,’ said I.
‘Yes,’ replied he, ‘and going to work. And I’m going voting.’
‘Really,’ said I. ‘Who are you going boating with?’
‘Nobody. I’m going by myself.’
‘Your going boating by yourself?’ I dubiously inquired. ‘What are you going to do, just go get in a boat and float?’

At this point I heard gales of laughter coming from my mom and Davey just kinda put his head down and shook it.

‘Voting,’ he said. ‘I’m going to vote!’

Click went my light bulb and I joined my mom in mirth. Gotta love those former farmer moments.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Former Farmer

  1. Stacy says:

    Well, I admit I have never before taken the time to read a complete Pearls Before Swine! 😦 My bad. But, I now admit, it was funny and very apropos to your current post!

  2. Jennifer says:

    This is so funny! Love the comic and conversations like that are amazing. I haven’t read all of your blog yet, but it is very nice! I love your writing and photography!

    …And I have to bring it up… doesn’t David’s hair look good in that photo!? hehe 😉

Leave a Reply

