i conquer the elements. sort of.

Right now, Wesley and I are a one car family. We were so busy selling off cars that we have yet to make the time to go buy another. This makes things a trifle difficult when he has to go to work one way, and I another. Thankfully, we have some nice parents who generously let us borrow cars when the occasion calls for it. Wesley drives our car, the Honda Element (an annoying manual) and I bomb around in the huge Chevy Silverado.

Until last night. The chevy kept dying on me. It had a faulty battery and Wes didn’t think it would hold a charge. This meant I had to drive the Element to work and I immediately became stressed. So at 10:24 pm, Wesley and I hit the road and drove to a nearby church. The parking lot was gravel and Wesley kept muttering, ‘Gosh, hope they don’t have any video cameras around’. Suffice to say there was a lot of squealing and churning of the tires.

I felt a little bit more confidant after all my starts and stops so thought I’d see how I felt with a stop light staring at me. I made it safely to the Walmart parking lot where I learned some important things about reverse and then back home where I learned some very important things about parking the car. I went to bed praying for green lights.

I woke up praying for green lights. I get so panicky when there are people stacked up behind me and then the light turns green. I don’t even think. I just frantically press pedals. And this usually ends in me killing it. And then people honk. And then I get depressed. So I also prayed that I would take the time to think through what I was doing and not just frantically react. And then I decided to do this.

I felt sure that if I just asked nicely, people would be kind and I could remove that honking stress.

And guess what? It worked! I drove all the way to work, through nine stop lights without killing it! I was beyond pleased with myself, bursting with confidence.

I just hope I don’t have to do it again tomorrow.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to i conquer the elements. sort of.

  1. your mother says:

    i am laughing so hard i have tears running down my face!!!! this just makes my day!!!

  2. amanda easley says:

    Cute Kelsey! that is funny Lauren : ) Nothing like the good old Stogsdill gene of NOTE WRITING to save the day!!! 🙂 : )

  3. Dad says:

    This entry is under protest! Kels I demand a recall (or follow up post)! You survived the manual crusher with davey’s criticism in the backseat! I taught you how to drop the clutch and peel out in that thing! Remember killing it in front of the Carlton?! Am I to blame here?!

    Slightly depressed

    (glad you made it to work safe. Love the sign)

  4. Brookie says:

    this is so inspiring!

  5. Erin says:

    Man kels…..my life exactly right now! Jonathan took me to a grocery store parking lot a couple weeks ago. We spent about 30 minutes in practice starting and stopping and learning the gears. Supposedly 30 minutes is all it takes??? NO I’ve been driving the jetta (stick) grocery shopping the last week and I can relate with dreaming of green lights!!! I always come up to the light thinking “just turn green…please!” Jonathan got on to me the first couple times I drove with him because I would do California rolling stops to prevent from having to stop and start up out of 1st gear lol. So funny because I told Jonathan’s family last week that I wish I could put a sign on the back of my car that says “Beginner stick driver…stay back” So I thought it was pretty funny when you made your sign. I had a crowd of young guys get a big kick out of my start at the grocery store the other day but you just have to laugh or it can ruin a good day of shopping;/ I know the feeling of stalling and holding up traffic in the middle of town:) Anyways thanks for sharing the blog…I was dying laughing! Happy driving:)

  6. Stacy says:

    Loved the story and the note on the Element. I, too, had to learn as a newlywed (more like Erin’s newlywed status) and I never will forget the day I asked Christine Langford to ride a long with me to a few garage sales. I took off on a hill (not many other options in A-Town) and I happened to glance over at Christine and her head was bobbing back and forth like it was on a spring. I almost got hysterical but then she was acting like it was perfectly normal for her head to flop around so I zipped it. That’s been over 30 years now but I can still remember it clear as a bell!
    I’m sure enjoying your blog!

  7. Kristy says:

    what a blast from the past! I’ve been where you are, too, Kels, except it was before I was married. One of my funniest memories is sitting at a light in short pump (not exactly the deserted road you’d wish for when learning stick), it was green, but I was stalled out and me and my little brothers just had a great big laughing fit as cars wizzed past us in the lanes on either side of us. We just got hysterical and couldn’t seem to stop! Finally, I managed to gather myself enough to restart the truck and off we went amid many squeals and lurches.
    BTW…I had the best laugh I’ve had in a while over Stacy’s comment. Very Funny!

  8. Pingback: for you! ($25 Starbucks Card Giveaway!) | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

