the end. maybe.

Gramps and Grama left my house on Monday, but Gramps was sure to keep me on my toes til the good-byes were said. We first had to stop by McDonalds so Gramps could get his morning coffee, then we made a stop at GoodWill to try to replace a skirt Grama had lost on the trip. Sure enough, first skirt we saw was very similar to the lost one and Grama found a few more to add to her collection. After completing our purchases, we got back into the truck where we had left Grampa. Evidently we had taken a bit to long because he had gotten bored and was scanning the radio. Unfortunately for us, the truck we were driving had a bad battery. So as I turned the key, all that reached my ears was a click click click. I closed my eyes and prayed for patience. Thankfully, it was sort of granted to me. I was able to assure Gramps that it was ‘no worries’, and asked if he’d like to do a little shopping as we suddenly had more time on our hands. Uncle Bobby arrived shortly to bearing jumper cables and much advice. We were back in business in no time and arrived at Bobby and Laura’s with no further difficulty. Good-byes were said, hugs given and I think I might have been able to laugh at the whole experience as I drove away. I think, might have taken me a bit longer, but eventually, laugh I did.

Make no mistake, even if I occasionally sounded exasperated, every sigh was always followed by a chuckle. I am so so grateful that I was able to spend this time with my grandparents and so thankful that Wesley desired to take this trip as much as I did. There is never a dull moment when traveling with Grampa and Grama and we enjoyed every minute of it. It is a rich blessing to have them as my heritage and to look at their lives and desire to pattern myself after them. And I believe I’ll let Grampa have the last word. My grandparents traveled home on Thursday, my grama’s 80th birthday. Sometime during the day, Gramps called my dad to check in. Dad asked where they were in their travels.. Gramps responded, ‘Well right now we’re clipping along at 30,000 feet in the air.’ ‘Really’, said dad, ‘what airline are you on, I didn’t know they allowed that?’ ‘Oh, we’re on United’, said Gramps, ‘and they only said not to use your cell phones on take off and landing!’

Hearing loss isn’t all bad.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens, Travels, Year 3. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to the end. maybe.

  1. Stacy says:

    Please don’t let it be The End! Keep up the great blogging. Love the interlude pics of the good times around the piano.

  2. Jana says:

    I love it Kels!! Got some great laughs from your trip stories! Maybe that Amish girl’s dress would come up too far if she was pedaling?!

  3. Sherri Cotten says:

    I love it Kels! Keep on blogging. It’s so fun to hear about your adventures.

Leave a Reply

