ode to my jade bangle

It finally happened. After wearing if for a third of my lifetime, my lovely bangle broke.I’m now left with the broken pieces and a quickly fading tan line. Dad bought mom and I these jade bangles back in August of 2004. When she was in her twenties, Mom had worked with a lady who always wore a jade bangle and when mom asked her about it she said something like, ‘My father bought this for me when I was young to remind me of his unfailing love for me and I never have taken it off.’

This translated to my mom wanting a bangle. So in 2004, we received ours.

It took me a good ten minutes to get mine on. I tried butter, lotion, contorting my wrist in all sorts of fashions and only when I had finally given up and just kind of rammed it on my hand did it pop over that bone.

After that there was no way it was coming off even if I had wanted it to, although several kids at school always had to try. The question that always came was, ‘But what are you going to do when you get married?’

Well, wear it, of course.

And I did.

But here’s a few memories with the bangle first.It faithfully saw me through the courting days with Wesley.

And the engagement days.It clashed beautifully with bridesmaids dresses but the brides never fussed.Even though I had cracked it playing a rigorous game of baseball in 2007 it survived to see me to my wedding day.And for nearly 3 years after that lovely day.

I really do miss it. You know how people who lose limbs have phantom pain? Well, my bangle used to dig into this one part of my arm and I’d always just sling my right hand down my left arm to loosen the bangle.

I keep doing that. Because I keep having that phantom pain in my left arm from a non existent bangle digging into my arm.

It’s kind of sad.

Bangle, you will be missed. Family, remember that time we played password and the word was jade and after going through the ringer dad finally just stared at my arm and said ‘bracelet!’ and we still never got it. It’s because you didn’t say bangle dad.

RIP bangle. Perhaps I’ll find a way to glue you back together.

August 24, 2004 to July 17, 2011.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to ode to my jade bangle

  1. Dad says:

    Ahhh. Well as bud not buddy says, “when one door closes another door opens…”.

    Thanks for the memories.

  2. Kristy Cotten says:

    sorry to hear about your bangle. maybe you can start a new tradition….(this is when your dad clues in and overnights you a new one. :))

    i can relate, i had (still have, it’s just sitting on my night stand…sad, lonely, and broken) a bracelet that joey gave me that i always wore. it was an i.d. bracelet, on the side that showed it said ‘kristy’ and then i had ‘joey’ engraved on the other. anyway, it finally had it’s day and broke off. i wore it through courtship and 5 years of our marriage. (and it too would poke and pinch, but i loved it so) your post has reminded me to pick up the pieces and take it to the jewelers to see what can be done. best of luck to you.

  3. Whitney says:

    Aww, sorry about that Kels! Maybe your dad will get you a new one. I think he should, to keep the tradition going. :)

  4. Cheree says:

    I hardly remember you without that bangle! First time was at kara’s wedding. I remember thinking…’is she really going to wear that with those purple dresses?’. And you did! I don’t think I realized at the time that you really couldn’t take it off! So sad for you:(

  5. Anya says:

    I loved that beautiful bangle! And I thought it always went charmingly well with everything you wore. Never knew the story til now… so sweet… and sadder even that it broke!

  6. Aunt Stace says:

    I can hear a song in my head: “Mr Broke Bangle….” :) Um. Sorry. That was corny. Having said all that dumb stuff, I really am sorry the bracelet broke. It had a neat story behind it and it’s still a neat story! (BTW, I LOVE the pic of you and Brookie)

  7. Jana says:

    I’m so sorry Kels! And I’m sorry I didn’t notice this past week!! I’ll miss it’s familiar face on your arm! :(

  8. Lindsey says:

    I too will miss you, Jade Bangle.

  9. G&G says:

    Such a neat story, Thanks for sharing it.
    G&G

  10. Susie says:

    Awww. So sad. I actually thought of you and your bangle when we were getting pedicures before Mandy’s wedding, since I saw more than a few jade bangle wearers in Vessel!

  11. Walin says:

    I don’t know how you broke it, but the 1st photo, I can tell it is not jadeite jade nor nephrite jade. the bangle was made of glass-that’s why it had ‘swirly’ green color looking to it. real jadeite and nephrite jade do not have swirly looking like this. glass is more prone to damage and breakage. if you love jade materials and want to wear it daily, the best choice is nephrite jade as it is ‘tougher’ while jadeite jade is harder and thus, more ‘brittle’.

  12. Shakha Mohan says:

    Hi there,
    you may wonder who i am and why i’m posting on your blog..i was goin through jade bangles on google and came across your broken one..sorry to see it has..the memories it carries are more precious than the bangle itself..yes it is a jade bangle,afraid to say a lesser quality one though..Never the less,its ‘fixable’….provided you have a local jeweller who can do the job for you.If you google jade bangles,you will see many of them with in two pieces with little caps on either end ,attached with a chain or a clasp..to be worn as a bracelet..maybe that can help..
    good luck with you bangle dear. :)
    Shakha Mohan

  13. Gale says:

    I say get another. Several years ago when we visited Australia my husband bought me 2 jade bangles. I wear one and am considering wearing both of them at the same time.
    It sounds like you are really mourning your loss, perhaps your dad or hubby will buy you another!

  14. Jenny says:

    http://www.jadeitejade.com/2011/05/my-broken-jade-bangle/

    Look at this website for what you can do with broken jade bangle.

    My suggestion is to take it to a jade jeweler and see what options are available.

  15. Andrijana Stefanovska says:

    1. pretty bangle! too bad it broke, but you should def get another one! it’s supposed to be worn at all times!
    2. be grateful! jade is really hard to break and it is, according to Chinese culture, believed to protect the person who wears it, and “break before you do”. so basically, if you didn’t wear the bangle, the injury would be inflicted on you. it saved you from quite a bit ;)

  16. Dominique says:

    Hi, I came across your blog via a google search for jade bangles.

    I recently broke my jade bangle that I have worn for 11 years, just a little more than a third of my life, too. I fell and cracked it in 2005 and it lasted until this year when I was doing a little play fighting. The bangle cut me and now I’m left with two scars. I was heartbroken to have a part of me gone.

    But what I wanted to say is that (in case you didn’t know) jade bangles are traditionally worn by women in China (I mean, jade has been a big thing in China and most of Asia since ancient times anyway). They are passed down as heirlooms, presented to babies during their one-month old celebration, gifts to the new daughter-in-law, etc. My mother told me that many pregnant women would wear jade bangles to protect their wearers from harm, as that is one of its many “spiritual properties”. These bangles are meant to be worn for a long long time as they should become a part of you, thus being able to protect you. From when I first met my grandmother until the day she passed away, she always had her bangle on. My mom still has one of her first jade bangles from my grandfather (her father-in-law) and she said I’ll be getting that one from her when and if I get married.

    Anyway, just as I fell and cracked my bangle and you cracking yours during a baseball game, our bangles protected us from harm (although I did get two giant bloody bruises on my knees). Basically, the jade protected us from more serious injuries. I see breaking my bangle as it having protected me from something much more terrible than two cuts on my wrist.

    If you ever decide to get another one, make sure you get what you pay for. The best jade is when it turns greener/more beautiful as you wear it and translucent jade seems to be valued more than opaque jade.

    I wish you the best! :)

  17. 壹峯陳 says:

    those broken jade could be made into some other jewellery. i just brought my wife a jadeite bangle, she could not remove it and hopefully she will grow to like it. price for jadeite rise. if you have a son or daughter whom you think you would like to leave a remembrance to. just get one for them . the reason why the chinese like to pass these thing as a heirloom is that it could not be replaced. as no 2 pair of bangle is identical.

  18. li li says:

    That s a class B quality. That s why it is brittle. Sorry. I sell jade jewelry here in Fujian China.

  19. li li says:

    It doesnt look like jade. It s like an economy bangle like C quality.real Jade s ver ver hard stone. Not easy to break. I hv mine since I was 25. Im now 46. Still looking beautiful.

Leave a Reply

